Finding work.

I left my previous employer in 2015 after working there for 7.5 years. I was tired of Texas, tired of the work, tired of that industry. I wanted to come back to the West Coast and live closer to my family. In short, I was miserable.

I came back to California without a job, not the wisest choice, and not one that I quickly recommend to anyone. If you’re thinking of leaving your job, try and make sure you have everything lined up as much as possible. For the sake of your sanity. Thankfully, I was working again by September. And you know that phrase, “the grass is always greener”, well, I found out the hard way that it is all too true. I was employed, but even more MEME-Work-Sucks-1miserable than I could possibly imagine. I loathed my boss and I’m pretty sure she felt the same about me, my coworkers were some of the most gossipy, backstabbing people I had ever encountered, and it was a contracted position, so I didn’t get sick leave, paid vacation, 401k, etc.

I can hear the collective eye roll. Believe me, I recognize that many people would see me as lucky to have had that job. That’s what I thought. Stay there, be miserable, but be thankful to be employed. Fortunately, or unfortunately, depending on how you look at it, they decided to end my contract. Without warning, without providing me a reason, without saying I did anything wrong. It was over. Such is the life of contracted work.

Fast forward two months, and I’m still looking for work. While unemployment sits at 5.1% nationwide, in California, it is still higher, closer to 6%. Not as bad as it used to be, but it’s still hard out there. It’s hard to stay positive, to keep putting in applications, hope for interviews and pursue leads. Well-meaning friends give unsolicited advice that makes you feel worse. Your parents, who haven’t had to find a new job in 20+ years wonder what’s wrong with you and your resume. And you start to question all the decisions you’ve made in your life. You ask yourself how you got here, to being unemployed, but also, having 8 years of work experience in a field you hate that translates into nothing you actually want to do. To not knowing exactly what you want to do and on some days, lack an inkling as to where to start.

It’s a dark place. It’s a sad place, often filled with a lot of tears. I wouldn’t wish it on anyone. But you keep plugging forward and hoping for the best. This too shall pass, right?

Leave a comment